John Talabot mixes DJ-Kicks


John Talabot has mixed the next edition of the DJ-Kicks series for the K7! label. It will be released on October 28. 2013.

DJ-Kicks mixes generally feature one exclusive track from the curator — in Talabot's case, there are two: a solo effort, "Without You," and a collaboration with Axel Boman as Talaboman ("Sideral"). The mix also contains material from Madteo, Pye Corner Audio, Motor City Drum Ensemble and Jus-Ed (full tracklist below).

"I thought that it would be good if people could discover what my influences are, where I’ve come from, the people that I admire and tracks that have been important to me over the last ten years, plus some tracks on my label that have never been released," he says.

Talabot's crate-digging ethos comes to the fore on the mix, which features an obscurity in "Innermind" by Paradise's Deep Groove. "It’s hard to buy that on vinyl and you can’t really get it digitally," he says. "So putting that on this mix is like rescuing an old vinyl record. I’ve had that record for ten years and I listen to it a lot. It is really special to me."

Watch a preview video for the mix here.

John Talabot DJ-Kicks tracklist:
01. North Lake - Journey To The Center Of The Sun
02. Pye Corner Audio - Underneath The Dancefloor
03. Maps - I Heard Them Say (Andy Stott Remix)
04. Pye Corner Audio - Zero Centre
05. Michael Ozone - Hetrotopia (Young Marco Remix)
06. Madteo - We Doubt (You Can Make It)
07. Harmonious Thelonious - The Grasshopper Was The Witness (Elmore Judd & Rowan Park Remix)
08. Tempel Rytmik - Anagrama
09. John Talabot - Without You (DJ-Kicks)
10. Axel Boman - Klinsmann
11. Joaquin Joe Claussell presents Residue Part One - Eno (Melodic Dub)
12. Bostro Pesopeo & Pional - Bonus Beats
13. Mara TK - Run (Moodymann Remix)
14. Alex Burkat - Shower Scene
15. Mistakes Are Okay - Night Watcher
16. Unknown - #001
17. Round - Glass
18. Max Mohr - Old Song
19. Samo DJ - Tai Po Kau
20. Motor City Drum Ensemble - Escape To Nowhere
21. Paradise's Deep Groove - Innermind
22. Abby - Streets (Wraetlic Remix)
23. DJ Jus-Ed - Turn Of The Century
24. Genius Of Time - Juno Jam
25. Kron - Silikron (Jürgen Paape Remix)
26. Talaboman - Sideral
27. Pional - It's All Over (Locked Groove Rendition)

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter